January-in-Review

This month’s entries can be found on the January 2013 archive page.
This month’s photos focus on water, as I realized I learned how to be a lot more fluid in January.


IMG_43161. What did you do this month that you’d never done before?
Had a great month of blogging (okay, I’ve done that before, but not since like 2007), went to Finland and Prague, survived the worst Winter Blues yet.

2. How are the resolutions coming along?
I was pretty good about my health this month, but my mental health still suffered. That will be a long battle for me, I think. I wrote a lot, and started to gain my eye for photos as the month wore on. I practiced meditation and did a lot of soul-searching. My resolutions are more vague, but I think that means I get to be more flexible in achieving them.

3. How did last month’s resolution go?
I wrote somewhere in the neighborhood of 42 blog posts and Yelp entries combined. I didn’t write every day, but I had a good average.

4. What’s a new resolution for this month?
Same as last month, but adapted–read a chapter, write a blog post, or review one yelp business every day on average.

IMG_45185. Who is one person worth recognizing this month?
Tati, a classmate who caught me at a bad moment and helped carry me through. Lots of people helped carry me, but I’ve been blessed to have some great encounters.

6. What would you like to have next month that you lacked this month?
Stability of mind. A renewed conviction toward happiness. (Is two too many?)

7. What date from this month will remain etched in your memory and why?
January 11, 2013 — Czeching out Prague!

8. What was your biggest achievement this month?
I hate to admit this, but surviving.

9. And your biggest failure?
My darkest moments of weakness and loss of faith in myself.

IMG_471410. What did you get really, really excited about this month?
Um, not a ton. It was rough, to be completely honest.

11. What song will always remind you of this month?
Angels by Owl City: “the indications reveal, that few us realize life is quite surreal”

12. What was the best book your read this month?
Sphere by Michael Crichton

13. What was your favorite film this month?
American Psycho, closely followed by Django Unchained

14. What is a valuable life lesson from this month?
I’m going to be fine. No, really, I am.

15. What’s next month’s horoscope?
TAURUS (April 20-May 20) ✰✰✰✰
IMG_4703Suddenly your interest in different lands fades. In fact, it fades the first day of the month. You want the here and now, and you are ready to appreciate the here and now. So gaze around carefully this month. Most certainly you will be noticed by bosses, higher ups and anyone who looks up to you. You simply are more present in conversations, interactions and just in general. You could be on the path to a pay raise or promotion.
Use care anyway with funds and spending this month. You easily can justify an expenditure or two, but money gone is money gone. Use good judgment. In fact, you are likely to see more funds come in. Think accumulation. Think vacation. Think war chest.
If attached, you might think your sweetie could be remote. The last ten days of February, the mood will change for awhile. Allow your significant other to reveal what has been bothering them. They will,- on their time. If single, the last ten days promised much fun, potential new friends, and the fulfillment in the near future of a long term desire.

Leave a Reply

