February-in-Review

This month’s entries can be found on the February 2013 archive page.


IMG_5159[1]  1. What did you do this month that you’d never done before?
Went to Portugal. Got bumped off a flight. Saw A Clockwork Orange.

2. How are the yearly resolutions coming along?
I would like to think I’m doing pretty well, though that could be a lot of February-was-way-better-than-January perception. I wasn’t ardent on going to the gym, but got myself working out three times a week, even if it wasn’t much. I’ve been shooting a lot of photos and writing when I remember to. I’ve been making progress in the job search as well. I also think I made some good leaps in my stress/anxiety management this month, at least about some specific issues I have.

3. How did last month’s resolution go?
It was alright, not as good as in January. I wrote 14 yelp reviews and 6 entries here. I was very poor about reading; I feel like there was a book I was working on, but I couldn’t even tell you which it was.

4. What’s a new resolution for this month?
Close out the month with a clean slate: no outstanding Yelp reviews, 31 new photos, 30 new entries (-1 for the day I’ve already missed).

5. Who is one person worth recognizing this month?
I have a new friend, Alex, who’s a nice change of pace from my favored regular friends.

6. What would you like to have next month that you lacked this month?
SPRING BREAK.

IMG_5012[1]7. What date from this month will remain etched in your memory and why?
February 3, 2013: The resurrection of my closest friendship in London… I feel like this might seem small to everyone else, or maybe that I’m giving it weigh more weight that it really means. Basically, I feel like I pushed myself out of my comfort zone, to step back up to the plate rather than running away. Having this friendship is work, but it’s also satisfying.

8. What was your biggest achievement this month?
Remembering to remind myself “does this have a meaningful impact on my life?” as much as I could. I didn’t get it right every time, but it’s getting easier. When I remember that, I usually remember to remove myself from whatever’s making me forget it in the first place.

9. And your biggest failure?
Obsession. Wasting thoughts on topics of little relevance.

10. What did you get really, really excited about this month?
Star Trek in May…. I guess I don’t remember any hugely impactful moments of excitement.

11. What song will always remind you of this month?
Boys with Girlfriends by Meiko
“When I first met you I knew you were the one
Till you took me home and I met her
She had your boxers on
And she was listening to your song
And I thought right then that you had everything…”

12. What was the best book your read this month?
Erm… Didn’t. Sorry!

IMG_5148[1]13. What was your favorite film this month?
District 9. Fucking mind blown.

14. What is a valuable life lesson from this month?
Every monster (and every dream) has only as much power as you feed it. (Feed the right things.)

15. What’s next month’s horoscope?
TAURUS: ✰✰✰✰
The bull, though wading through problems, manages to get a lot of what they want, financially and emotionally this month. You are enduring, oh shall we say stubborn, but right now you hit the bull’s eye more times than not. The real question is do you really know what you want? Use the period before March 22 for wish fulfillment. Do not allow an argument with a friend get to you. On the other hand, don’t become the stubborn bull on this issue, okay?

Leave a Reply

