On Being Lazy

Lately, it seems like everyone I know is freaking out a little bit. I know, it’s really weird, because normally I’m the one freaking out when everyone else is like, what on earth are you fussed about?*. But, there it is. People are full of The Anxiety that we only have six months left in our program, and I am thinking, well, the first six months seemed so long, so surely we’ve got plenty of time left.

*Current fave British expression.

Particularly this is manifest in my deep-seeded desire to lay around on the weekends, while everyone seems to want to travel, or go out, or just be doing something. Maybe it’s burnout from the amount of work I’ve been doing in the past 10 weeks, but nothing sounds more appealing than curling up on a couch for a movie. Laying around surfing the internet for a while, not researching anything. Just turning off the brain, being a normal person for a day or two, you know the normal 25-year old, working during the week and laying about during the weekend.

I don’t know, maybe I’ll regret it. Maybe I’ll look back and think of all the things I didn’t do in London, and Europe as a whole. Maybe the trouble is you think you have time as the Buddha said. But, I have two huge trips planned, and another four in the works. I have plenty of restaurants I want to try and a few museums and a whole bunch of movies to see.

I feel like the minute I feel like there’s something better I could be doing with my time is the minute I’ve given up on enjoying my life exactly as it is, PJs on the couch and all.

Leave a Reply

