June-in-Review

Archives for this month can be found on the June 2013 page.
Photos this month from my trip to Berlin, June 22-24, 2013.


IMG_81151. What did you do this month that you’d never done before?
Went to Berlin. Won my whole campus competition! Exercised self-restraint beyond knowing, and only felt mildly regretful. Lost, and found my passport, and also got a second passport. Snagged a third internship.

2. How are the yearly resolutions coming along?
They’re coming along. The big step I took in June toward my quality of life and happiness was spending a few weeks in therapy. It was nice just to talk a bit to someone.

3. How did last month’s resolution go?
Ehh…. not so hot. Between my heart acting up under stress and the sheer amount of work I had to do in the second half of the module, I fell of the bandwagon. I’m back on running already though!

4. What’s a new resolution for this month?
Score at least one job interview.

5. Who is one person worth recognizing this month?
My friend, Anna, whom I didn’t see all month, but who ‘put me up’ for a few days while she was out of town and allowed me to unwind and hang out with her cat at generally have a relaxing holiday from classes. Lovely opportunity I wouldn’t have had if I had stayed in London.

IMG_84096. What would you like to have next month that you lacked this month?
… We’re back to the “a job” bit!

7. What date from this month will remain etched in your memory and why?
June 20, 2013: Winning the London Campus of the Action Project… Carrying on into the wee hours… Displaying great reserve after dancing my heart out…

8. What was your biggest achievement this month?
Winning the Action Project!

9. And your biggest failure?
Destroying my close friendship.

10. What did you get really, really excited about this month?
Man of Steel. Thanks for the fucking letdown, Zach Snyder.

11. What song will always remind you of this month?
“Get Lucky” by Daft Punk

12. What was the best book your read this month?
“Snakes in Suits” by Paul Bebiak and Robert Hare… School reading, ftw!

IMG_841313. What was your favorite film this month?
I rewatched “O Brother, Where Art Thou?,” which is a great movie. If it has to be something I’ve never seen before, I guess “Old Boy,” even though it’s totally fucked up and I didn’t really like it (I just liked everything else even less!).

14. What is a valuable life lesson from this month?
There’s things worth fighting for, and fighting over, but sometimes you just have to let things happen and wait to see how they turn out.

15. What’s next month’s horoscope?
(New astrologer from now on, as my old one takes too long to update!)
There is no denying that your thoughts are the problem—not all of your thoughts but most of them. Pay close attention to thoughts that result in nothing but frustration and ask yourself if they are worth thinking. I’d like you to practice something this week-every morning get up and write three pages of whatever is in your head, stream of consciousness, pen to paper, without stopping. This is from Julia Cameron’s The Artists Way, and it works. What you need right now is a way to empty out your mind and the best time to do this is in the morning before the day begins. At the end of the day I want you to write down 20 things that you are grateful for, doesn’t matter what they are-just write them. There is a tremendous amount of complexity that you are being asked to hold right now- things are anything but simple. Relationship issues, which are bound to surface this week, can only be helped if you show up to them with less of an agenda. Keep emptying your mind, you are in a process of un-learning and it’s important that you stay teachable-many things are working themselves out if you can let them find there own way to the solution.

Leave a Reply

