Desire & Destiny: Day 6

I am again working to complete a meditation challenge from Oprah & Deepak at the Chopra Center for Meditation. This one, titled Desire and Destiny, is a 21-day exercise, with daily 15 minute meditations. I’m attempting to journal every day using the prompts provided in the program, and would like to share my feelings here. Not as a narrative or organized fashion, but more for my own posterity.

Day 6: Resilient Me

Think of a time you felt a dream went up in flames or felt the sting of failure. Take some time to reflect. After considering that experience, write about the things you learned about yourself and life from that challenge. Was there a treasure in disguise, a new opportunity, or new beginning within that experience?
There has not been a single moment of ruin which hasn’t then lead to a better place in my life. Every breakup, every setback, every mistake, has been a much-needed transformative opportunity, where I have emerged–sometimes kicking and screaming–into a better place in my life. I can’t ever see that when it’s happening, but I’ve learned now to ask, and acknowledge that there will be no answer to the question, ‘what is this meant to teach me?’

During meditation today, we were encouraged to release thoughts and feelings about our perceived challenges and adversities to fill that newly cleared space with infinite love and light. Take some time to fill your cup with possibility–describe your new vision for this day. Open wide, tap into your resilience, positivity, and pure potential.
There was a moment during today’s meditation where the centering thought became stronger than the mantra: a gift resides in every moment. Taking the time to do my meditation, to sit and let moments flow by slowly as my mind made space and calm emptiness, showed me how large each moment is. It is really quite a long time, long enough for both great and terrible things to happen. As much as there is a gift in each moment, there is also an opportunity, to see what each moment will bring that can make my life more meaningful and impactful, not just for myself, but for those around me. It’s quite an awe-inspiring realization to see how many chances I have in my life to have a wonderful existence.

What are you grateful for today?
The flexibility in my job to learn, to grow, to struggle, and to overcome. To be able to do things my own way, if I need to. The support to climb a steep learning curve, and know that I can take this opportunity and make it what it must be. I remember that when I got this job, I said I had to give it everything, because it was one of the rare moments when I saw a moment as a gift, and wanted to cherish it. After six weeks, I am struggling to keep focus and find my way, but I’m grateful that today’s meditation allows me to refocus on that gift, as well as the many others I had in each moment today.

Use this space to reflect further on your experience today.
Today I focused my hands on the Root chakra. I thought, given the poignant sequoia example in the introduction, it might do well to root my physical body to its surroundings. To encourage each piece of me to spread out into the ground and air like roots of a tree. I experienced that blissful sensation of non-feeling in many of my limbs–my legs, my fingertips, my hands–that told me I was moving deeper into my meditation than I have in the past few days.

Leave a Reply

