Desire & Destiny: Day 9

I am again working to complete a meditation challenge from Oprah & Deepak at the Chopra Center for Meditation. This one, titled Desire and Destiny, is a 21-day exercise, with daily 15 minute meditations. I’m attempting to journal every day using the prompts provided in the program, and would like to share my feelings here. Not as a narrative or organized fashion, but more for my own posterity.

Day 9: Focused Me

Write in detail about one thing you truly want in your life. What is it? Paint the picture in detail. What will your life be like when you have it? How will you feel? Who will be with you and what will you being doing?
I spent time today trying to visualize what ‘security’ would look like, and I found myself climbing down a long staircase to arrive on a ground floor. I spent time inspecting the floor, the foundation of the building, noticing a few cracks that were beyond repair, but many pillars that were well-built and capable of supporting a great deal of weight from the structure above. I began to build a floor–to make the foundation room inhabitable, rather than anxiety-provoking as I had experienced when first climbing down the stairs. I was… not alone, but not with others, as we laid beautiful hardwood, fitting the pieces together to make a floor like I want. The cracks in the cement are still below the wood, but tending to the foundation room seems like a good place to start with manifesting security. After all, no one but me can create that destiny.

As you connect daily with your inner knowing, your intuition, you notice that you will find clarity and confidence as you select each step toward your dream. What three things do you intuitively know will bring you closer to living the vision you wrote in question one?
First and always, writing more, and deeply; spending time in my foundation room to tend to it and furnish it, to help make the things which sprout insecurity less likely to do so. Next, continuing to gain trust in my own intuition, which seems to be increasingly astute at guiding me to decisions that give me greater security. Finally, beginning to cut things out of my life that I know do not provide me security, like Facebook and other things as I realize them, so that I can keep my foundation room clear of nonsense and clutter.

What are you grateful for today?
Waking up feeling rested. The sun shining. A day of refocusing on my mood and my needs. I was losing focus for a bit, on my health and my well-being (not really surprising at this time of the year, but still difficult). The opportunity to try and have a great day today.

Use this space to reflect further on your experience today.
Today was all about the heart chakra, and tuning into what was happening inside. I didn’t focus much on the mantra since it was so similar to yesterdays, but spent time exploring visually and verbally with my mind, sifting through to find the important things to consider. Occasionally, it lead me to the insights I found today.

Leave a Reply

