Desire & Destiny: Day 13

I am again working to complete a meditation challenge from Oprah & Deepak at the Chopra Center for Meditation. This one, titled Desire and Destiny, is a 21-day exercise, with daily 15 minute meditations. I’m attempting to journal every day using the prompts provided in the program, and would like to share my feelings here. Not as a narrative or organized fashion, but more for my own posterity.

Day 13: Faithful Me

When we accept who we are, just as we are, with trust in the power of source energy, we take an essential step along the journey to aligning with our true purpose and destiny. Write a letter that shares “what you wish you knew” when you were younger – about the importance, liberation, and power of “just being you” in life. Write this letter of wisdom and encouragement to the important young people in your life, and as a reminder to your inner child. Consider sharing this letter with someone special.
See my letter here, because it was really too good not to give its own space to breathe on this blog.

Describe the evidence you have in your life experience that helps you to trust that things will be ok – to trust the timing in the universe. Maybe you have a story that speaks deeply to your heart and opens your trust; perhaps you see a sign in nature or hear a song over and over at just the right time. Where can you let go and let life flow in your life today?
Oh, boy! Do I ever have a situation where I need to ‘let go.’ (Cue Imogen Heap.) I am in a situation where there are events happening in my periphery, and a friend is going through a difficult time. I know that I am certainly responsible for some of this strife from an implicit level, and I accept that I also have an explicit level of blame I need to take. The consequences of my behavior are manifesting, and I am impatient to see them through and see where they end up. After all, who doesn’t want to skip the unpleasantness and ambiguity of a transition phase?
The reality is that life is one big transition phase. Every day and every minute are different from the last, and just as we age at an imperceptible pace on the daily scale, we definitely age on the scale of centuries. Time will pass at the same speed it always has, increasing in perceived speed over time. It is my job to not try and mess with it, because the minutes I skip wishing time to pass more quickly, I can never get back.

What are you grateful for today?
Allowing myself personal time and space to be alone as myself. Pajamas, pizza, and Dr. Who while I balanced my checkbook on Saturday night; some day someone else might find that an endearing state, but for now I am personally happy to do that because it is what endears me to myself. I am listening to the desires of my own self, and honoring them.
Sometimes that looks lazy or antisocial, but I’m perfectly fine with that.

Use this space to reflect further on your experience today.

Heart chakra today, naturally. This was all about allowing the heart to take over from the mind, which it did. I spent time focusing on two things Deepak said in the introduction: the law of Detachment (which it would be interesting to run “studies” on), and the fact that

Leave a Reply

