Desire & Destiny – Day 14

I am again working to complete a meditation challenge from Oprah & Deepak at the Chopra Center for Meditation. This one, titled Desire and Destiny, is a 21-day exercise, with daily 15 minute meditations. I’m attempting to journal every day using the prompts provided in the program, and would like to share my feelings here. Not as a narrative or organized fashion, but more for my own posterity.

Day 14 – Grateful Me

How does being thankful for everything in your life pave the way for greater abundance? What happens in your world when you shift into a place of gratitude?
By viewing the world through a lens of abundance, it makes it easier to see all of the wonderful things that are happening in our lives. It’s not that our lives become more abundant–it’s just that we suddenly have eyes to see all of the abundance that was there all along. This perceptual shift feels like an increase, but it’s the justification to switch to increasing gratitude right now, because the minute it happens, abundance begins to show itself.

Take time to write down all of the things you are grateful for that your physical body provides.
Healthy lungs to breathe air easily. A heart that pumps tirelessly and even takes caffeine overloads pretty well. Limbs that are whole and useable to help me move and live and exercise and play. A back that is strong and carries me through the world. A mind that is sharp and cunning and has gotten me pretty damn far–farther than I could have predicted. A face that is good looking enough that people give me the benefit of the doubt, and opportunities arise from it. A reproductive system that provided life in the past, and will continue to do so in the future. Feet that carry me throughout the world. Fingers that are mobile, flexible, and fast at typing. Eyes that see the world in great focus and beauty. Teeth and lips and a mouth that help me taste all the world has to offer.

Who are you grateful for today? Write a thank you letter to one or all of them detailing all of your appreciation and gratitude. Consider sharing your words in an e-mail, text, letter or spontaneous call.
I am grateful for a friend whose call–though I was dreading it because I hate talking on the phone–was a highlight of the day. A long-overdue catch up while I stood in the sun and replenished my bodily needs for vitamin D left me feeling connected and more whole than I have in a long time. I am grateful for all of the friends I have, not the least of whom are those I’m due to catch up with soon.

Use this space to reflect further on your experience today.
No time, must dash! (Focused on root chakra–gotta go back to the foundations of gratitude and love from time to time.)

Leave a Reply

