Desire & Destiny: Day 16

I am again working to complete a meditation challenge from Oprah & Deepak at the Chopra Center for Meditation. This one, titled Desire and Destiny, is a 21-day exercise, with daily 15 minute meditations. I’m attempting to journal every day using the prompts provided in the program, and would like to share my feelings here. Not as a narrative or organized fashion, but more for my own posterity.

Day 16: Uniquely Me

There is no one else on the planet that is here to be who you are and give what you have to give. Describe the qualities, gifts and talents that make you unique.
I don’t think it’s fair to say that any single quality, gift, or talent I have is wholly unique to me–I don’t have a genius brain or a physical capability unlike anyone else. The confluence of these things in me is what makes me unique: the things I love to do, like travel, writing, photography, eating, psychology, and marketing; the education I’ve had, both inside the many classrooms and outside of it; the places I have been, in the order I’ve been to them, is perhaps truly unique; the exact people I’ve met and ways in which we’ve impacted each others lives. These things, all together, are unique. Just as I am a body made of millions of cells, my uniqueness is the combination of millions of small things, days and laughs and tears and struggles and photos and words. No one has seen or will see the world exactly the way I am seeing it, and it is that experience that gives me a unique perspective from which to change the world.

We learned that our divine purpose is ever evolving throughout our lives. What do you believe your divine purpose is in this moment?
To find the motivation to work out a little bit before work, since I’m very tired and haven’t had much motivation. Also, to use my happy light today, since it’s a grey day and I’m wiped out. Maybe my divine purpose today is to take care of myself and keep myself healthy.

What are you grateful for today?
Upcoming travel, which I think is totally rejuvinating for me. It’s been over two months since I left London, and about two months since I visited Seattle. After limited travel while in Europe, and now a reasonable stretch of work without a vacation away from it all, I think I’m due for one, and looking forward to it with gratitude.

Use this space to reflect further on your experience today.
I am full of the yawns today. Can’t seem to wake up completely. I am glad I did this challenge, but I’m looking forward to finishing it. I think I’m better suited to doing the sessions at night, but they aren’t really made to be done that way. Oh well, just a few days left to have this experience and be grateful for it!

Leave a Reply

