Desire & Destiny: Day 17

I am again working to complete a meditation challenge from Oprah & Deepak at the Chopra Center for Meditation. This one, titled Desire and Destiny, is a 21-day exercise, with daily 15 minute meditations. I’m attempting to journal every day using the prompts provided in the program, and would like to share my feelings here. Not as a narrative or organized fashion, but more for my own posterity.

Day 17: Inspirational Me

Who is someone you consider a significant and meaningful teacher in your life? What important teachings did you receive from them? How has crossing paths with this person influenced how you live and share with others?
I’ve really struggled to find someone I consider to be a significant and meaningful teacher to me. I’ve had many teachers in my life, both those who have taught me in the classroom, and those who have crossed through my life to teach me the most important lessons I know. But if there’s just one person, I’m not sure I can identify that, and I’ve spent the day thinking. I think today I need to work on identifying three people I can answer this question with.

How are you a teacher in your life? If you feel like you are not a teacher, take a deep breath, connect with your heart for a few minutes and then ask yourself that question again. Take your time and write the many ways you are teaching others by just being you.
I think I often teach others about how we can overcome our mistakes. I’ve certainly made enough in my own life, and am willing to be open about what I’ve done, and what I’ve learned, and my own opinions. I think that inspires others to be more willing to talk and accept that mistakes happen, and learn how to get through them. I think I mentioned this a few days ago, but I think something I can teach others is to accept their humanness by modeling my growing acceptance of my own humanity.

What are you grateful for today?
Vacation days where the world moves at a different pace and there’s time to appreciate what’s going on around me. Time to take photos, eat great food, and meet new people (or catch up with old friends). There aren’t enough days in my life like this, and I’m always glad to have them.

Leave a Reply

