Desire & Destiny: Day 18

I am again working to complete a meditation challenge from Oprah & Deepak at the Chopra Center for Meditation. This one, titled Desire and Destiny, is a 21-day exercise, with daily 15 minute meditations. I’m attempting to journal every day using the prompts provided in the program, and would like to share my feelings here. Not as a narrative or organized fashion, but more for my own posterity.

Day 18: Creative Me

How do you like to play? What are the activities that are fun and exciting for you? How do they make you feel? Perhaps there is something fun and exciting that you have been longing to try. Consider scheduling that activity into your week.
I don’t think I play often enough–or I feel like I haven’t been, because I’ve been busy and the winter weather is starting to sap my energy. When I am playing, it includes being social, going out, eating and drinking with friends. I also think that writing is sometimes a form of play, when I don’t push myself to create a specific thing and just let myself write an idea. In creating myself within these activities, I find that my mind doesn’t feel so heavy–I’m not bombarded with thoughts or worries, and lose myself in the moment. I think that’s a sign of how happy they make me, since I don’t think about how happy they make me.

Write yourself a self-care plan for this week. How can you take good care of yourself? What things can you plan to incorporate into your week that nourish and fuel you?
This week’s self-care plan includes improving my health once the holiday weekend has ended. It means taking the time to write when the urge strikes, not just when ‘the assignment is due.’ I’d also like to start doing some German now that the meditation challenge is drawing to a close, and as a discrete goal, I’d like to take my violin out and tune it so that I can eventually start practicing again. These non-left-brained activities will help me find space from that analytical, anxious side of myself, even if they don’t bring the same kind or level of happiness.

What are you grateful for today?
Rest and relaxation, and the resources to be able to travel and have friends who are always welcoming to me. It being Thanksgiving, I am of course thankful for my family, even in our crazy and totally human life. I’m grateful for a job I enjoy in a city I like, and the opportunity to think as optimistically or pessimistically as I choose about my future. Most of the time it’s optimistic, so I need to remember to focus on that when I can.

Leave a Reply

