Desire & Destiny: Day 20

I am again working to complete a meditation challenge from Oprah & Deepak at the Chopra Center for Meditation. This one, titled Desire and Destiny, is a 21-day exercise, with daily 15 minute meditations. I’m attempting to journal every day using the prompts provided in the program, and would like to share my feelings here. Not as a narrative or organized fashion, but more for my own posterity.

Day 20: Visionary Me

What does community look like in your life? Consider five ways that you can begin to cultivate the experience of community and connection. As you strengthen your connection with others you open the door to new ideas, opportunities, and relationships.
Community is severely lacking in my life right now, and for the last six months or so. To be fair, my time in London was drawing to a close, and then I was in transit, but since arriving in Seattle, I’ve been pretty horrible about connecting outside of my comfort zone. Interestingly, my meditation certainly took me into thinking about this area of my life. I realized I must certainly start to connect with the Yelp community more, and to be outgoing about it (maybe smaller events at first?). I should join a book club in the new year, because I love reading. Hopefully Tequila Tuesday will begin to create a social experience, but in the meantime, I should try and make friends at the Whiskey Collective a bit more. Also, if I’m going to try and learn German, it would be cool to join some sort of speaking club to practice. I’ll have to research that part.

Describe how you have benefited when you’ve followed your intuition to open up to a new person. How did that benefit outweigh any hesitation you might have experienced before connecting? Is there someone you have been hoping to get to know more or collaborate with in your life?
I can’t remember a specific situation, but I get the general feeling that some of my most beneficial connections with people have been unexpected and off-chance meetings. The reality is that those we have already connected with have helped our lives in the majority of ways they can, and this means that their scope of influence is somewhat diluted. By meeting and connecting with new people, we find ways to expand that we couldn’t before meeting them, allowing us to connect to greater potential. I’m not sure there’s anyone I have been hoping to meet, but I do have a standing list of people I need to reach out to collaborate with. That will be my goal for the rest of this week–clean up that to-do list and start to make some connections!

What are you grateful for today?
Closing my eyes as the dawn began, and opening them to see the Olympic mountains emerging from the gloom. Having the eyes to have that vision, as well as to have dreams, ideas, thoughts, and wonders that no one else can currently see. These eyes help inform the way I see the world, and the way I can help it, and that’s not a common gift.

Leave a Reply

