2013-in-Review

This is my sixth year of reviewing the year as a whole at the end of it–I think that the New Year is both a time to look forward with resolve, and a time to look backward in reflection. This is my space for just such a thing–a longer version of my “Month in Review” entries. 2013, as expected, was lively: full of ups and downs and sideways movements, sometimes with other people, and sometimes completely alone. I’d like to think this year was good for me–some important things have changed for the better, and that’s a good way to feel at the end of a year.

Here are previous years: 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012

Here are the months of 2013 (December forthcoming): January, February, March, April & May, June, July & August, September & October, November, December

1. What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?
Finished a year living in London. Visited China (and seven European countries!). Moved to Seattle. Got my first “big kid” job. Tried online dating.

1a. Which things did you complete on your bucket list?
Lived in a flat in London. Celebrated St. Patrick’s Day with the Irish. Stood on the Great Wall of China.

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
In 2013, I tried a new form of resolution-setting, and while I think I was for the most part successful, it also wasn’t concrete enough to help me really focus.

2a. “Live Long and Live Well”
I tried to take care of myself, but often I was overwhelmed with other tasks. Now, at the end of the year, I realize that my philosophy of taking care of my eyes and teeth since I only get one set of each of those should also apply to my body. I only get one body, too!

2b. “Do whatever brings you deeper into the reality of your life. Not the life you think you can have, the life you’ve got”
I took lots of pictures and starting writing much more frequently than I ever have before. I started one meditation challenge and finished another. I think I did pretty well at this!

2c. “The work you do while you procrastinate is probably the work you should be doing for the rest of your life”
Yes, I got a job that I enjoy (nearly every day!). Yes, I settled into a new life. I also started my own travel magazine, because I was unemployed and unemployable in the work I love. I try and work on that as much as I can.

2d. “We can complain because rose bushes have thorns, or rejoice because thorn bushes have roses”
This is the vague one, and I don’t feel like I succeeded at changing my perception very much. I know there are some things that have changed, but not as much as I’d hope for. Next year, more specific!

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
My friend Josie gave birth to her daughter in late October. I’ve yet to meet the chica, but I hope to very soon!

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Knock wood, no. General health and prosperity in 2013.

5. What would you like to have in 2014 that you lacked in 2013?
Less debt! More socializing, with friends both near and far.

6. What places did you visit?
The question of the year! Finland (January), Prague (January), Lisbon (February), Ireland (part 2) (March), Barcelona (April), China (May), Berlin (June), Copenhagen (July), Paris (July). Also Seattle (before moving here), Portland, San Francisco, and my parents’ in Colorado.

7. What date from 2013 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
June 16, 2013: the day Jeff and I stopped being friends
September 11, 2013: the day I moved away from London
October 2, 2013: the day I started my first real job

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Getting my emotions under control.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Isolating myself when my friendship with Jeff was falling apart; I hurt other people by doing so, when I was just thinking about protecting myself.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Well, a spate of colds, and a migraine that made me want to die. But other than that, generally no.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
The domain for my travel magazine. That was such a great step forward!

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
There are a lot of people: Kerri for her unswerving friendship, Mari for her strength of character, my Mom for her wisdom… there’s a good start on a list of gratitude!

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
I’ve learned by doing these reviews that people generally don’t like to be told they’ve fucked up, they’re uncomfortable with my public ridicule, and they hate feeling the consequences of their shitty behavior. That said, there are people who have sucked this year, and I know who they are, and someday they probably will know too. In the meantime, I don’t like Monsanto, President Obama, and the Gap Corporation.

14. Where did most of your money go?
My Yelp 365 challenge, moving across the country, and rent.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Living in London, even though that ended in September.

16. What song will always remind you of 2013?
“Start Again” by Two Door Cinema Club

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder?
Happier
ii. thinner or fatter? Fatter
iii. richer or poorer? Richer
A good year, then!

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Connecting with people who would be great friends.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Anxious behaviors, isolation, and complaining.

20. How did you spend Christmas?
At my parents’ in Colorado. I flew in late on Christmas eve, and surprised my brothers.

21. What would cheer you up today?
Not having to go to work!

22. Did you fall in love in 2013?
Nope. Perfectly content with that, too.

23. How many one-night stands?
One, and it was life-changing. I decided to go to therapy because of it. Gosh, that makes it sound like it was really important–it just taught me something really important about myself.

24. What was your favorite TV program?
Doctor Who… but only the 10th doctor.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
There are people I get along with less well this year, but I’d like to think that I don’t hate anyone new, and I have a lot of new friends to make up for the ones I’ve lost.

26. What was the best book you read?
There was one of the Mary Russell series books that I couldn’t put down for a while, but I’m not sure which it was.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Macklemore.

28. What did you want and get?
Nearly everything! I’m a pretty lucky gal.

29. What was your favorite film of this year?
Hmm… that came out in 2013? So I’m apparently a dude, because the following movies had my highest rating of the year: Stoker, Star Trek Into Darkness, Iron Man 3, Pacific Rim, and Europa Report.

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 26 in 2013, and celebrated with a few friends in London. It was a Tequila Tuesday! It was fun–memorable, silly, and not at all lonely…

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Humans being good humans, not knowingly doing bad things, or at least not repeatedly doing them once they know they’re bad.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2013?
Layers 4 Lyfe.

33. What kept you sane?
I did! That’s the first time I’ve ever said that.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Benedict Cumberbatch, just like last year!

35. What political issue stirred you the most?
Censorship in the media.

36. Whom did you miss?
Jeff. Mari. My family.

37. Who was the best new person you met?
Hmm… I haven’t met too many new people since moving to Seattle, but I met some awesome folks when rotations happened: Marcel, Scott, Stephen, oh! He was already in the MBA program, but I didn’t really meet Alex until about February. He’s brilliant, and I’m so glad we’ve stayed in touch.

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2013:
The only thing constant is change: change as in growing older, change as in people coming and going, change as in life circumstances shifting. Get Used To It.

39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
Everything comes to an end,
But who knows what tomorrow will send,
We must wait for a sign,
And be patient with time,
Until then, we can start again.
– “Start Again,” Two Door Cinema Club

40. What is next year’s horoscope?
TAURUS (April 20-May 20)  ★★★★☆
You enter this year feeling scraggly, worn, wishing for something other than a bad hair day.  The holidays took its toll. That wish will be fulfilled sometime in February.,  The wise bull will not make any major changes for the first two months of the year whether you are looking at a move or deciding on  a new hair color. Your motto for January and February is no change.
In many ways, this year will be a testing  looking back at what was started 14 years ago. You will have choices to make. If all is fine, do not worry, otherwise an adjustment might be necessary. You will feel the effect mainly within relationships.
Use care through May as you will be accident prone. Your mind often will wander to thoughts not relevant to what you are doing. If there is a theme, you might want with that issue., Anger could be involved.
Nevertheless your daily life has an upbeat positive quality. Your style of communications becomes more upscale or more evolved. Others respond to you with ease. Come August, you might make an investment in property, move in with  someone or perhaps if attached, have a new addition.
You will start expressing much joy within your domestic life through the remainder of the year.You end 2014 on a far more content, happy tone than it began on.  You will have a lot to smile about a year from now.

Leave a Reply

