Weigh-in Wednesday #2

Gulp! I know this Wednesday is not as good as I hoped it would be. I know it because I started a diet this week–when I stepped on the scale on Monday morning (when I do my weigh-ins for the diet, precluding my weighing on Wednesdays, but sufficient to help me track my health on a weekly basis), I was glad it was also the morning I was changing my diet.

I have known for many years that I have a variety of health problems, most notably Lyme disease. It’s not something that affects my day to day life, but the sneaky part about Lyme is that as an auto-immune disease, it’s slowly causing damage to lots of other body systems. I’ll probably have digestive problems (if I don’t already), my heart palpitations and asthma are exacerbated by having Lyme, and a variety of unknown but equally unpleasant possibilities loom in the next 50+ years of my life.

I decided that 2014 would be the year of two things: better health, and better lifelogging. I work for a lifelogging company, so it’s time I start figuring out how it fits in my life, and how it can help me. What better way than to tackle an easily quantifiable area of my life?

This week? Let’s start with the good stuff:

SleepSleep
I am the queen of sleep. I guarantee myself sleep, because I require seven hours a day to be a functional and enjoyable person. If you’d asked me, I would have said prior to measuring it, that I am very regimented about ensuring I get enough sleep. Thankfully my job doesn’t have a set start time, so I’ve gone completely off an alarm clock. That plus a leisurely weekend made it a great week for sleep.

CaloriesCalories
With my nutrition tracker and my weight goals, I am supposed to be consuming approximately 1500 calories a day to maintain healthy weight loss. Given the diet I started Monday, I saw a tremendous fall off in calories consumed–I was rarely reaching 2000 a day before, but now I’m sitting around 65% of that before even working out. I’m also starting to make much healthier choices. But I tracked that too! Let me show you…

Nutrition Breakdown

I actually am doing quite well (actual performance on the left, goals on the right) since I adjusted my diet–I’m consuming healthier carbs, and have a reasonable amount of protein. I’m actually going to shift that more, if only because I’d like to try and eat higher value protein and see how I feel as a result. Basically I’ll trade fat for protein–you’d be shocked how cutting down cheese products makes cheese the most delectable thing you’ve ever tasted.

Okay, but there’s always room for (lots of) improvement:

Screen Shot 2014-01-08 at 11.12.01 PMFruits and Vegetables
My diet saved this statistic–for the first five days of the week, I ate two fruits or veggies. Total. Then I had a ten-veggie day followed by a four veggie day, and suddenly I start to see how this whole eating and digestion thing is supposed to feel. It’s expensive, yes, but it’s the way the body is supposed to operate. I still have a ways to go–I generally don’t enjoy eating raw fruits and veggies, and this is the best way to consume them. Something to work on, I guess.

MilesMiles
This statistic is meant to measure how much time I put in at the gym–even if it’s only 10 minutes a day on average, that should be seven miles. So, I’ve got a ways to go. To be fair, I only worked out Monday and Tuesday, and in that sense I’m doing quite well! I’m counting elliptical miles as part of this statistic until the weather clears–one can only do so many miles on the treadmill, staring at the window screen, before one gives up.

StepsSteps
This is a measure of my overall daily activity–the average American moves 5000 steps a day, and the goal according to my Jawbone UP is 10000 per day. I’ve got plenty to work on, then. I’ve gotten in the habit of just sitting around a lot, and being a bit lazy on my walks to/from places. Push comes to shove, I was thinking of walking to the next bus stop, rather than the closest.

In the end?

Screen Shot 2014-01-08 at 10.58.09 PMWeight
Ouch–an increase! Wait, is this a surprise? I’m leading a sedentary lifestyle, hardly moving, sleeping a lot, was eating junk constantly up until recently (seriously, one day I ate: a leftover calzone, a cheeseburger, and mozzarella sticks, and that was it all day…). Gravity wins in that situation, and the weight goes up. For the record, this is the most I’ve ever weighed. Now I’ll go cringe…

Leave a Reply

